A while back I found this quote:

“I began to realize how important it was to be an enthusiast in life. He taught me that if you are interested in something, no matter what it is, go at it at full speed ahead. Embrace it with both arms, hug it, love it, and above all become passionate about it. Lukewarm is no good. Hot is no good either. White hot and passionate is the only thing to be.” -Roald Dahl

Did God not create us each unique with different skills, abilities, and passions so that we would be passionate and helpful so we could be part of something bigger than ourselves? If we were all passionate about wood carving, we’d have a whole lot of nicely chiseled pieces of wood, but not much else.

Psalm 139:14 says, “I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.”

It has taken me a long time to find something that I could be an enthusiast about. I have wanted so badly for many years to be able to have that thing that I LOVE to do and am great at — that thing that others know that I’m all about. I have had lots of little things that I kind of enjoy, but nothing that I was passionate about.

I have prayed that God would show me that THING. The reason that He made me so uniquely. The purpose that He created me for. That something that fulfills me, helps others, and allows me to live in the freedom of knowing that I was made for something special. His purpose for me.

I love this quote by Jeffrey R. Holland:

“God is eagerly waiting for the chance to answer your prayers and fulfill your dreams, just as He always has. But He can’t if you don’t pray, and He can’t if you don’t dream. In short, He can’t if you don’t believe.”

I want to encourage you with this today – God created you for a purpose…and no one else will do because He fashioned you intentionally. Every single thing about you was hand-picked by God and knit together in such a way as to make you PERFECT for what He has planned for you.

I look forward to one day being able to see how God used my uniqueness – my quirks – for His glory and for His masterful purpose.

I challenge you to take some time and try to see yourself through His eyes. See yourself as a special creation unlike any other. Look for those things that He put inside of you to use for His glory. Search for those passions that He gave you and seek out ways to use them for Him.

-KG

 

Leave a comment