Striving for Natural

I remember when I was a kid, I loved taking long showers because the hot water felt so nice and relaxing. However, I was a kid, so I got bored pretty quickly with just standing there. So what would I do? Read the back of my shampoo bottle. Some shampoo bottles had interesting trivia that you could only discover the answer to by also reading the back of the bottle of conditioner, which I happily obliged to do.

Besides the trivia answers that I learned, I also noticed that there were so many ingredients listed on the bottles. Like…a lot. And I didn’t know what those words were. I thought, “Surely, it’s only because I’m a kid and don’t know very many things. Of course adults know what these things are.”

False.

Who really knows what all those things are? Not me.

Not then.

Not now.

For most of my life, I can recall having this urge to make things myself. I was always wanting to make my own paint, my own lip balm, my own lotion, my own cleaning supplies. I even did a bit of research at the beginning of 2016 on if I could make my own essential oils. I discovered that, while I had beautiful rose bushes, I had nowhere near enough to even come close to the quality (or quantity of petals for that matter) to create a rose essential oil that would have any impact on my family’s health.

[Move forward to March 2016]

My husband’s aunt drove about 6 hours down to where we live to meet with my mother-in-law for a day or two and visit. We happened to be over at my in-laws house when she was there, so I invited myself into their conversation. They were talking about, smelling, and trying on essential oils.

Now, I had heard a tiny bit about essential oils previously and was under the impression that a little oil from a plant is going to do absolutely NO good for anything of importance to me. And geeze, they’re expensive too! My husband fondly refers to them (still, but in jest) as “snake oils”.

I sat and listened anyway trying to be polite. I had a major headache that was slowly turning into more of a migraine. They offered to let me use an essential oil to help my headache…and I politely declined, but they BOTH insisted, so I caved in and tried an oil blend called Deep Relief. I put it on the back of my neck, at the base of my skull, and on my temples and around my hairline (basically wherever my head hurt).

Not more than 1 minute later, my headache was drastically less. Like, almost completely gone. I kind of did this, “Oh my goodness!” little hip-hip-hooray mostly to myself and then realized that it was too ironic to ignore that I had just put that oil on myself. I wanted to try others and see what they could do.

Needless to say, I ended up purchasing a Premium Starter Kit with Young Living and started using my new oils. I had several times that after I applied the oils and my issue was resolved, I STILL couldn’t believe that these oils could do something like that – and SO fast too!

I attended a class that one of my mother-in-law’s friends taught and was hooked. I had no idea the science that was behind these oils. The single oils (like peppermint) are studied and researched deep into their chemical properties and then from there, oil blends are created based on the chemical properties of the single oils to get the desired effect. I’m a science nerd and always have been fascinated by science-y things and this piqued my interest more than anything else before.

There are scientific reasons why the essential oils work as quickly as they do…why they work at all…and the way they distill or acquire the essential oils is done in such a way so as to get the highest quality and quantity of the chemical constituents within the individual oils. All of this is done to provide the highest quality essential oil to those who use them.

I’m sure it is a lot cheaper and quicker to produce an oil that has a lower quality and less of the good things in the oil, but Young Living does this process in a way so their products will be the highest quality possible, regardless of cost and time spent waiting for the oil to be in stock. They also have very high standards of the quality of care that is taken with the plants on their farms and their partner farms. No pesticides are used and no other chemicals are sprayed on the plans. This is done to preserve the integrity of the plant and to keep the promise that Young Living has made to their members – to provide the highest quality products that are 100% natural, chemical free. The promise they have made is referred to as their “Seed to Seal Promise”. There is something so respectable about a company that chooses to reject the increase in profit that would come from cheapening the quality of their oils and accept the challenge of keeping the promise they have made to their members. I trust Young Living with my health and my family’s health because of that promise.

Now, why did I bring this up at all? What does this have to do with striving for natural? Well, let me tell you. After doing research on the chemicals that are in the products we use on a daily basis, I knew I had to make a change. So many of the chemicals that are in common household products are toxic and are actually endocrine disruptors.

Endocrine disruptors are chemicals that affect your body’s ability to function how it was designed as far as your endocrine system is concerned. Your endocrine system controls your hormones. Endocrine disruptors mimic, at least partially, your naturally occurring hormones (think – estrogens, androgens, thyroid) and can produce over stimulation. They also bind to a receptor site within a cell and block your naturally occurring hormone from binding…which causes your body to fail to respond properly.

This is SO bad for your body. It is unable to function how it was designed. Really not good.

I have been moving my family in the direction of using more natural products for this reason. I went to a seminar for Young Living in my area and learned about Thieves Household Cleaner, which combines the benefits of Thieves essential oil blend with Lemon essential oil. This one cleaner has replaced all of the “single purpose” cleaners I used to have (window cleaner, floor cleaner, kitchen counter cleaner, toilet cleaner, etc). I can use Thieves Household Cleaner for all of those things…AND…it ends up being so much cheaper because of how incredibly concentrated it is. One bottle of Thieves cleaner can be diluted 320:1 for glass cleaner, which is the overall equivalent of almost 178 bottles of Windex. It’s chemical free and so much more economical – how could you NOT use it?

I am still striving to incorporate more natural products into our lives, but I have chosen to take it one product at a time. As I ran out of toothpaste, I replaced it with Thieves toothpaste. As I ran out of laundry detergent, I replaced it with Thieves laundry detergent, which is also extremely concentrated. When I look at the progress I have made toward having more natural products in my house, I am astounded.

All it takes is moving forward one step after the other. Are you ready to take the plunge and strive for natural with me?

Follow this link and let me help you get started today!

-KG

Leave a Reply

